3 Underrated Skills to Help Reduce Relationship Arguments

How many do you have?

Jennifer Haubrich
6 min readMar 28, 2022
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

It might be nice if we all knew how to get along and maintain our relationships through instinct. Many other animals on the planet seem to survive purely by instinct. Whales, eels, sea turtles, penguins, and other birds can travel thousands of miles and back with no help. Meanwhile, we humans need a GPS to travel to a new city.

And we learn how to get along with others through a lot of trial and error.

While I have sometimes found in life that our human instincts are helpful, when it comes to my relationship, just as importantly, there are other times when my instincts point me in precisely the wrong direction.

Like if I go with my gut, things get messy.

I speak without thinking. I pass judgment too quickly. I make a mountain out of a molehill (and that will be my last animal reference).

Fortunately, if we pay attention, we can learn from our mistakes and think before following our instincts in certain situations. We can develop alternative techniques and approaches.

Here are three skills worth developing to replace common instincts. These skills serve us much better because they help us avoid unnecessary conflict in our relationship. (Because who wants more…

--

--

Jennifer Haubrich

Finding the funny in relationships, parenting, life, and personifying inanimate objects. Contact: jenniferh@lumieremedia.com